TOTM


When I first opened my shop, I took every order I could get. I was scared to say no and thought I was supposed to please everyone else. I was working over 80 hours a week, 7 days a week and was at a dead run every day. One day, as I met with a bride and her mother, they asked about the shop. I told them how busy we were and how long the hours were. At the same time, the shouted out “TOTM!!”

I am sure I looked at them like they were crazy. I asked what they were saying to me. They laughed and said “Think Of The Money”.

After they left, I made a sign to put on my bulletin board with those four letters. At 2 am on those long cake nights, I would replay their words and I took heart that my work was not in vain. Without the money, there was no business. I know that sometimes it doesn’t seem like the money is worth it, but remember that those busy weekends or months pay for the ones that are slow. You work harder and do more some weeks to afford the luxury of taking no orders to go on vacation or to a cake show.

I hope on your next all nighter, when you are close to tears because you are just THAT tired, you will hear me whispering in your ear, TOTM, and that you will remember it is good to be busy sometimes.

2 thoughts on “TOTM

  1. OMG….Am sitting infront of a cake ..tired as ever can be..and am here thinking to myself..what have I put myself through…another cake is waiting on the side to be covered and decorated…your message couldnt hve come at a better time..thnks for posting…

Leave a Reply

