Day 11 of the 12 Days of Giveaways: Silver Metallic Dusting Powder


Hi!  My regular readers have already figured out that this is a day late.  Ooops.  I’ve been working on organizing my sugar room and actually seeing friends in town and I just didn’t get it posted yesterday.  But this is the holidays and you will forgive me, right?

One of my favorite Christmas memories is of watching Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer on tv and the snowman/Burl Ives sings “Silver and Gold”.  I really love that song and always loved how the snowman actually looked like Burl.  To this day, it makes me smile.  In recognition of that memory, I am going to give away my Silver Metallic Dusting Powder.  This powder is made in Italy and is considered “inedible” there.  In America, we would use the words “non toxic”.  I use this on pieces that will be removed from the cake before it is served.  It is hands down the most gorgeous silver I’ve ever worked with.  I’ve been teaching with this for a while and my students all fall in love with it.  It is great dry dusted on, but becomes truly amazing if mixed with alcohol or lemon extract to create a silver “paint”.  I can list many decorators who are huge, huge fans of this powder.

I sell the dust on my web site at www.RuthRickey.com.  I normally sell out everytime I take it to a Day of Sharing or other cake event.  Here is the container:

silver accent dust

So, does it really make a great Silver?  Here are some items I’ve created with the dust.

bling bows fantasy flowers

 

 

I am going to give one of these to one of my lucky readers.

To enter today’s contest, comment on this post and tell me what one cake tool you cannot live without!

Terms & Conditions:

You must be 18 years or older to enter. Contest ends midnight (Eastern Standard Time)  12/23/12.  Winner will be chosen by SugarZen and contacted by email. Winner will have 48 hours to reply or a new winner will be chosen. Ruth Rickey will ship the prize to the winner within 30 days of contest end.  US recipients only residing in one of the 48 contiguous states.

47 thoughts on “Day 11 of the 12 Days of Giveaways: Silver Metallic Dusting Powder

  1. Love the silver dust and the blinginess it offers. The tool I can’t live without is my marble rolling pin for fondant rolling. It’s heavy enough to give the push I need since I’m height and arm strength challenged.

  2. Being from the older style of cake decorating, I still do a lot of birthday cakes and I think what I’d most hate to live without would be my Kopy Rite machine because I’m not good at freehand drawing.

  3. The wonderful people that I have met online. The people that have posted tutorials to help not just me but everyone else. That is what I couldn’t live without.

  4. That’s a really tough question to answer. Since I started decorating cakes and cookies, the one most useful “tool” I’ve found are the people in the cake community who are so willing to share their knowledge, techniques, tutorials, and tried and true recipes. Without those people, I wouldn’t be able to do what I do today. I still have a lot to learn, but enjoy doing so with these people. Other than the wonderful cake community online, my next tool I couldn’t do without would have to be my Cuisinart 7 qt. mixer. Otherwise how could I whip up all those delicious batters and doughs! And this silver dust would add so much dimension and pizzazz!

  5. I don’t know what I should choose…. I LOVE my turntable, and also all my angled spatulas. Love to have one of your metallic sliver dust… that is one dust I do not yet have! Take care… have a great Christmas Season.

  6. First things first, you are most definitely forgiven. Next, I think I would not be able to live without my rolling pins. Those rolling pins are the basis for so many good things to come. Just like the gold dust, I have used this product and absolutely love, love, love it!

  7. There are many tools that I wished I had and dont’, but I would have to say that the tools I have are ALL Important to me…..

  8. My 7 qt. Professional Kitchen
    Aid mixer is something that I just couldn’t live without..The next most important tool are the tutorials and helpful hints.

  9. Wow-tough question!! Guess it would have to be my letter cutters–I have just terrible handwriting!! Love the silver dust–I’m really into bling at the moment!

  10. I keep an empty sour cream container on the counter with my most frequently used tools in it. There is just one tool that, when missing, that stops me in my tracks: my PME double ended cutting wheels.

  11. Love the silver dust – omg so many to choose from I really don’t know (thinking thinking thinking)I guess it would be my rolling pins too.

  12. I am loving your giveaways, but really love the comments! Ooh, to narrow it down to one tool I can’t live without????? I’d have to say my embellishments — all the things to put the finishing touches on the latest creation!

  13. It is so hard to pick a most important tool. I guess I’d have to pick exacto knife. Thanks for the great give away the silver looks awesome.

  14. I can not live without the internet community of cake decorators and the wealth of information they so generously share. No question goes unanswered. God Bless them all!!

  15. Love the silver dust. Gosh I can’t think of one tool! I’m going to go non-traditional and say the best tool is my fellow sugar artists and them sharing their inspiration, knowledge, support, wisdom and encouragement!

  16. My one cake tool? If its anything at all, its the internet! I use the internet for everything from ideas to recipes to business ideas and more! However, if its a tool that can be bought, I have to say that the wilton adjustable ribbon cutter is one of my absolute most used items. And I have three of them!!

  17. The one cake tool I can no longer live without is the small palette knife that I purchased from Nick Lodge. It is so fine and thin, helps me clean up the edges of my cake drums, smooth the buttercream “seams” from one tier to another, helps me to place fondant pieces onto my cake, and so many more things than I can think of at the moment. I actually have bought three and keep them in various places, so I’m never without one.
    That silver is definitely beautiful and would help to add some zing to pieces that can be decorated and then removed for food safety!

  18. So as I read through these things one item will come to mind and then it’s oH! that is a good one…and so is tht… and that one too. That’s hard to define. I’d say the rubber scraper paddle on my kitchen aid. it scrapes teh bowl as it goes!! Saves me tons of time.

  19. Thank you, Ruth. I love the silver I use it to paint all the time. Can’t do without my Agbay, because I cannot cut straight with a knife

  20. That is a difficult one. there are so many tools. but at the moment my yellow stick is a must have. thanks Ruth for your great give aways

  21. my 4yr old autistic son when I working on something I make double and let him do his own thing and his excitement keeps me going and showers me with positive energy…

  22. I agree, this is a toughie… I love my dresden tool and end up using it for things a dresden usually isn’t intended to be used for!

Leave a Reply

