Day 12 of the 12 Days of Giveaways: Confectioner’s Glaze and Wash


Happy Tuesday friends.  We are one week away from Christmas and it is still in the 60s here in Oklahoma.  I’m not getting to wear sweaters, let alone my cute hats and coats.  For some reason, winter never really hits Oklahoma until January or February – and I will be back to traveling by then!

I figure you have been as transfixed as I have been about the shooting in Connecticutt.  One of my heroes, Ann Curry, asked her followers on twitter to do either #20 acts of kindness or #26 acts of kindness, in honor of those taken in the horrific tragedy.  Since I just recommended the day of the shooting that we start using words of kindness randomly, I think this fits the message I want to send to my readers.  Whether you are religious, spiritual or none of the above, I still believe this fits the definition of being a good person.  I hope that each of you will take a moment, grab a piece of paper and start making notes of either 20 or 26 acts/words of kindness that you share.  I’m not asking you to tell anyone…just do it for yourself and those lucky enough to benefit from your act.  When you have a blue day and wonder why you are here on this Earth, pull out that list and remember that you are paying it forward….you are helping to change how we treat each other.  I’m going to do it and really, truly hope you will too.

Now for the giveaway.  I cannot remember the first time I was introduced to Confectioner’s Glaze, but I DO remember thinking that someone had bottled magic.  The Glaze is that awesome clear candy coating on the outside of every Advil, M&M, Jelly Belly and other similar product.  As someone who has had to take a ridiculous number of pills in my life, I know how much I hated the ones that started to dissolve the second they hit my tongue.  Maybe that is the first reason I fell in love with the Glaze.

I use the Glaze in many of my classes.  I sell the diluted version on my web site, www.RuthRickey.com.  There is an undiluted version that other cake suppliers carry.  For some reason, I’ve only worked with the diluted and so that is what I teach with.  Some people HATE the Glaze because it ruins your paintbrushes.  Here’s the key…water doesn’t remove it (remember…that is why they coat pills with it!).  You need the Glaze Wash to clean your brushes or any spills.  I carry the Wash, as well.

 

confectioners glaze wash confectioners glaze

I will do some tutorials in the future on how I use it, but here are some photos to show you why I love it.  Below is a leaf freshly dipped into the glaze, versus one that has been allowed to dry.  The glaze sets the color and blends them and makes it look more like a real leaf.

050

Here is one of my competition cakes.  After finishing the mosaic, I repeatedly glazed the tiles so that they looked like real ceramic tiles.  It takes a pretty mosaic to one that stops people in their tracks.

mosaic

In the picture below, the hypericum berries were dipped into the Glaze to get that “berry” shine.  I’ve used it for Olives, Mistletoe, Blueberries and even Almonds.  If it has a sheen to it, Glaze is your friend.

ruth iphone pics dec 2012 1168

Look for more information on Glaze in future posts, as well as tutorials.  I’m going to work on the subjects you guys have given me and the tutorial requests I’ve received.  You guys will be stuck reading my posts for years to come.  I am going to give a set of these to one of my lucky readers.  The comments have been amazing to each of my questions lately and I think you guys have enjoyed reading them as much as I have!

To enter today’s contest, comment on this post and tell me what you see as a trend for 2013.  Will there be an “in” color?  What will take the place of these hundreds of owl cakes?  What will brides want for their wedding cakes?  I know it’s just a guess, but let’s brainstorm together…what is the next trend?

Terms & Conditions:

You must be 18 years or older to enter. Contest ends midnight (Eastern Standard Time)  12/24/12.  Winner will be chosen by SugarZen and contacted by email. Winner will have 48 hours to reply or a new winner will be chosen. Ruth Rickey will ship the prize to the winner within 30 days of contest end.  US recipients only residing in one of the 48 contiguous states.

47 thoughts on “Day 12 of the 12 Days of Giveaways: Confectioner’s Glaze and Wash

  1. I got this one in the bag….lol….Thinking the next trend will be lots and lots of glitter, sparkle, and shiny!!…..Merry Christmas!

  2. I’m not sure what the next trend is going to be or the new colors. Seems like they are often things that you would never think of. I’m going to go out on a limb and say that it’s probably going to be a new fantasy flower, or maybe a hippo. The color will either be shades of grey, or magenta. And of course I’m just talking off the top of my head! Thanks for all these giveaways and I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and New Years! Look forward to all of your postings.

  3. I no longer finish a Minnie Mouse cake and get another order for a Mickey and a Minnie cake…so I have to wonder it this will be a trend this coming year….and yes, I did do a owl cake this year…I think people are getting smart and choosing just three colors…but I see the blues, greens, and a baby yellow coming in all of the stores, so I think that may be the colors to come.. I would have to say blue tones…
    I think brides are going for more simple cakes…less done and save money…right now I see people are not spending like they used to….

  4. I am loving your blog posts and reading everyone’s comments on the question of the day! I’m thinking the new trend is going to be exceptionally decorated cookies. It seems I’m seeing more and more cookies that are just so beautifully decorated.

  5. Ruth, I think the trend will be elegant and simple wedding cakes with just a subtle addition of bling and color. Happy Holidays to you and thanks again for all of these wonderful blogs and giveaways!

  6. Not too sure of what next year’s wedding cake trends will be; but, I think I need to find out quickly as my youngest just announced her engagement. I think I probably know who will have to make the cake. As for colors I think brite is a keeper along with dusts and glitter. Happy Holidays to you and your followers!

  7. Predicting brides? Hmmmmm.
    Seems to me that more craziness will prevail, fondant that imitates fabric draped in layers and layers. Gems, gems and more gems. Excess disguised as simplicity. Colors: pewter, silver and platinum with black. Maybe a touch of whisper pale pink or blush.
    But that’s just my opinion.

  8. I’m hoping for a nice pretty green. Hedgehogs…….and Banana slugs. ;-). (I realize that just because I like them doesn’t mean other people do)

  9. The in color for 2013 is emerald but I think pink and purple will remain the too spots for wedding cakes… greens (any or a variety of) take the next spot. I think that specialty decorated cookies are the next big thing and you have to be an artist more than a baker to rock the new ideas I keep seeing thanks to cookie con!! Jill FCS; Arty mcgoo and more keep pushing my abilities to a new level! I hope wedding cakes get away from the “band around the bottom” and go back to all buttercream!

  10. I cannot guess what will be in… I can hope for lots of Art Deco and unruliness! 🙂 I am guessing for colors, we will see lots of pastels with a punch dull…ie grey. I am guessing there will be a new animal influence in the mix. We have had zebra, peacock, owls, monkeys, etc. Maybe something reptilian? Lol. Who knows. 🙂 I am thinking a lot of brides will be targeting vintage. Lots of stucco, and lace perhaps?

  11. I think the quatrefoil design will replace chevron. As others have said, I have heard that emerald is the new color. Cupcakes will continue to stay strong, and I think more people may be trying their hand at decorated cookies. It is a skill that I have been pursuing for awhile now. Thank you for all the great blogs and giveaways! I have enjoyed reading these. The confectioners glaze looks amazing and I would love to try it! Merry Christmas!

  12. Oh I can only imagine what people will want, it will be whatever I don’t have in stock, that’s the way it always goes… LOL

  13. Not sure what will be the next crazy but I have always been a sucker for traditional and gumpaste flowers. On your post about the glaze…I never knew there was a blaze cleaner..would have saved me a lot of brushes. Is the glaze acceptable in cake show?

  14. It’s interesting to note that the Groom’s Cake is taking on a life of it’s own. They’re becoming more personal, more detailed and, in some cases, on equal par with the wedding cake itself! A fun trend. Colors: I’m seeing white, ivory and lots of action in that neighborhood of my palette.

  15. New Trend – I think this glaze!!! Just put out a few tutorials and its going to be everywhere because it is so cool! If I don’t win it, I’m buying it!

  16. I am guessing vintage is going to be big. My son loves all things vintage and took me to a shop that was swarming with young people. I am thinking late forties, early fifties with lots of flounce and curls.

  17. Loved using it this year for the first time and can not imagine ever working without it again. I think disco dusts are going to be really popular.

  18. I’m hearing a lot about emerald for 2013, although I’m not relishing making emerald green fondant! I hope the vintage, kind of rustic, frilled look remains a trend.

  19. The official Pantone color for 2013 is Emerald Green. I heard about it the other day on GMA. I was so glad to see the color combinations of brown/pink and brown/turquoise start to fade out this past year. I wonder what color people will pair up with the emerald? It can be a striking color when used with metallic golds. For some reason emerald and gold makes me think of Elizabeth Taylor… don’t know why. LOL On another note, I am excited to see buttercream and roral piping making a comeback! I was afraid it would become a lost art, which would have been a shame. I feel that almost anyone can mold lace and medallions and stick them on a cake, but having to pipe lacey designs and make buttercream/royal flowers requires a different skill set. ( I say this as I look over into my cake room that has drawers and shelves stocked with every imaginable mold or cutter imaginable) But…What goes around… comes around! Guess I better break out those old DVD’s on how to make royal icing flowers!

  20. I read in a woman’s magazine that the hot color for2013 is Monaco blue. It’s a bit lighter than navy and really beautiful. I hope a can get the color right witah frosting. Love your articles

  21. It’s hard to say what the trend will be for 2013, especially when the area I live is usually 2 years behind everyone else. One trend I hope will end is cup cakes and cake pops instead of wedding cake.

  22. I am seeing a tend here in Alabama for the hand piping on cakes or the lace molds combined with the hand piping. For years it was the simple cakes with ribbon and a topper. I am so excited to see the vintage look on cakes and less cupcakes and cookie cutter looks for weddings.

  23. I would hope old school piping is coming back, it started to pop up last year. What I’d like to see is Art Deco, it’s very trendy and cutting edge for a great look and color prospects. The UK trend for decorating is great on the cupcakes, but it’s such a lot of fuss for a small item. It seems the labor is too much for what my area (Elizabethtown, PA) will pay for a cupcake. We compete with the Amish in the farmers markets who grow their own ingredients and have no overhead. Inside cake decorating is going to become popular, since that is new and exciting.

  24. Great blog Ruth. I had someone give a card to one of my employees this afternoon with the note that she is #19 out 26 acts of kindness. It really made you think and made you want to do the same. Tomorrow I know quite a few people who will also be doing this. It’s hard in Connecticut these days. The children from Sandy Hook will be returning to school at my childrens old middle school a few miles from my home. All of this is just so close to home. We are all doing what we can to help and really feel the love from across the world.

  25. From what I am seeing in some of the cake magazines, especially wedding cakes, it seems color and those upside down ruffles of graduating colors. But then it could be anything as you well know.

Leave a Reply

