The Cover Band


Step into a smokey bar somewhere and you’ll find a cover band. They make a living singing songs made famous by others and getting as close as they can.

This encompasses many beginning cake decorators. They are recreating something designed by another artist. There is nothing wrong with this, so long as you are honest with yourself and others. My bakery seemed to create a lot of hits by Anne Heap and Lauren Kitchens. We never, ever acted like it was something we dreamed up.

Every now and then, brides and customers let us work with them on a custom design. On those days, we were closer to being a singer/songwriter. We were sugar art DESIGNERS. We created something different.

To me, people are cake decorators, cake designers,or a combination. Cake DECORATORS recreate cakes from Pinterest, books and the Internet. Cake DESIGNERS sketch and create designs for their customers. Both are sugar artists.

I think many of us are a bit of both. There are some notable exceptions who refuse to do cakes they have not personally designed. While that works for them, I find that the majority of bakeries that do a bit of both are the most profitable.

Are you a cover band or a singer/songwriter? Or are you like me?

IMG_0207

One thought on “The Cover Band

  1. I always call myself a cake “designer, baker, decorator” to cover all of the bases. Many people I work with have a kernel of an idea, and in order to flesh it out, I’ll send them to Google images to find things that they like. We then discuss details, cake sizes, shapes, etc., add & subtract, and finalize a design. I’d say that most finished products are original combinations of lots of sources and not attempts to copy whole designs. If I’m asked for an exact copy, I always say that it will be my own spin on it. I’m a cover band that adds a new bridge in my own key.

Leave a Reply

